40 gallon breeder

9 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_fishfriend_*

Guest_fishfriend_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 September 2013 - 04:30 PM

Hey, I live in the st. louis area and am wondering what I can do with a 40 gallon breeder. Im new to native fishes so any advice would be accepted.

#2 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 20 September 2013 - 05:04 PM

I'm assuming it is 36 x 18 x 12 or so deep.

I have several if these tanks and they make great darter stream tanks!
Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing. - Benjamin Franklin

#3 Guest_fishfriend_*

Guest_fishfriend_*
  • Guests

Posted 21 September 2013 - 11:05 AM

Those demesions are correct. Thank you.

#4 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors

Posted 21 September 2013 - 11:38 AM

Yes, it you put your HOB filter on one of the ends... and add a powerhead or watermover on that same end, but towards the front... this create a high flow area in the front and the width of the tank allows the water to sort of naturally circulate across the front and around and the back on the back side of the tank. Some structure in the middle of the tank enhances this further and creates a slack area on the far back side of the tank where fish will move to and from as they choose the best current for them at a particular time.

I loose a few shiners or larger fish from these tanks as jumpers because the relatively shallow depth, but for darters they are great.
Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing. - Benjamin Franklin

#5 Guest_EricaLyons_*

Guest_EricaLyons_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 September 2013 - 08:26 PM

Or you could put pygmy sunfish in there. I kept a pygmy sunfish colony going in my 55 gallon tank for a few years.