Hello, need help with classroom fish

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_mm94305_*

Guest_mm94305_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 March 2007 - 06:37 PM

Not so good and introducing myself but here we go. Hello my name is Melinda. I am a high school student trying to find information of the fish we have in our classroom. Oscar Smith High School is where I go and I enjoy going there. I have always liked fish but I favored cats more and we ended up with three so no fish for me. I came across this site in a search on google and thought that I could ask for help here. If anyone can help me that would be greatly appreciated.

#2 Guest_viridari_*

Guest_viridari_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 March 2007 - 06:41 PM

Hi Melinda,

Can you attach a picture of the fish to this thread so we can help ID it? Was it captured locally in a pond or stream, or was it purchased in a pet shop? Or ... ?

#3 Guest_Skipjack_*

Guest_Skipjack_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 March 2007 - 06:43 PM

Welcome Melinda! I am sure you will find plenty of people here willing to help you out. Good to have you on board!

#4 Guest_mm94305_*

Guest_mm94305_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 March 2007 - 06:45 PM

Actually I know the fish's name. It is called a Mummichog. My teacher said that it is usually with the Killifish if I am correct.

#5 Guest_mm94305_*

Guest_mm94305_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 March 2007 - 06:51 PM

All of a sudden in our classroom, some of the fish have stopped eating then they died before I could get any research done to help them. I looked up another site and it said the fish over where I live usually have some kind of worm in them to make them sick. I don't want all of our fish to die so that is why I started to do research to figure out why they are doing this.

#6 Guest_mm94305_*

Guest_mm94305_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 March 2007 - 07:08 PM

http://www.fisheries...chogs_small.jpg
I think the top one is a male and the bottom one is the female.

#7 Guest_hmt321_*

Guest_hmt321_*