New to Natives - Possible 55 Gallon Sunfish Setup

44 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_Blaze85_*

Guest_Blaze85_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 February 2014 - 02:41 PM

I am new to native fish and am looking at getting a 55 gallon started. I am from Minnesota and would love to get sunfish native to this area if possible. That being said, I also want to make sure that the tank is big enough not only to house the fish, but to give them enough space. I really like bluegills but know they get too big to keep in a 55. I also like greens, but have seen mixed comments on if they would be happy in a 55 and I really want to have more than a few fish in the tank. I am leaning on orange spotted (not sure if they are native to MN), but am wondering how many you would put in the tank? Could you mix a few greens and orange spotted together? Sorry if you have answered this question before, I can't seem to find exactly what I am looking for.

What would you recommend for me? Thanks for the help.

#2 Guest_Yeahson421_*

Guest_Yeahson421_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 February 2014 - 03:44 PM

Hello Blaze! I am also from MN and have experience with all of the fish you mentioned. 55 gallon tanks are not ideal for sunfish, or any fish in my opinion, really. The height is wasted space for the most part. If you already have the tank, though, Orangespotteds are definitely MN native and do quite well in tanks. There's a large population in Albert Lea that I'd happily show you this Summer.

#3 Guest_Blaze85_*

Guest_Blaze85_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 February 2014 - 03:48 PM

Hello Blaze! I am also from MN and have experience with all of the fish you mentioned. 55 gallon tanks are not ideal for sunfish, or any fish in my opinion, really. The height is wasted space for the most part. If you already have the tank, though, Orangespotteds are definitely MN native and do quite well in tanks. There's a large population in Albert Lea that I'd happily show you this Summer.