Silver with pink

• Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_shaft6977_*

Guest_shaft6977_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 July 2014 - 02:25 PM

We're out on a sampling trip and we're catching a ton of some sort of silvery fish with a faint pink coloration towards the top of it along the back. I'm new to this, does anyone know offhand what that would be? We're on Sugar Creek in west central Indiana.

#2 Guest_Skipjack_*

Guest_Skipjack_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 July 2014 - 02:33 PM

Pretty vague. Have any photos?

#3 Guest_shaft6977_*

Guest_shaft6977_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 July 2014 - 02:46 PM

I'm on my phone. I'll have to try it when I get back home.

#4 Guest_Yeahson421_*

Guest_Yeahson421_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 July 2014 - 02:48 PM

My best guess would be Redside Dace.

#5 Guest_Skipjack_*

Guest_Skipjack_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 July 2014 - 03:03 PM

Redside has red below the lateral line. I think one persons idea of pink may be different than others. So a decent picture is needed. Otherwise you will only get speculation. If you provide a good photo in a photo tank, one of the experts here will most likely ID it for you. Photo in hand is not that useful usually.

#6 Guest_shaft6977_*

Guest_shaft6977_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 July 2014 - 03:34 PM

How I missed the marking on the dorsal fin is beyond me. Most of these are spotfin shiners.

#7 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 13 July 2014 - 04:52 PM

you mean Cyprinella spiloptera?
Either write something worth reading or do something worth writing. - Benjamin Franklin

#8 Guest_Skipjack_*

Guest_Skipjack_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 July 2014 - 05:23 PM

Not sure of the pink on spiloptera. I will have to look for it.

#9 Guest_shaft6977_*

Guest_shaft6977_*
  • Guests

Posted 13 July 2014 - 06:57 PM