Stocking suggestions for a 30 gallon tank

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Beeker

Beeker
  • NANFA Guest

Posted 12 January 2015 - 10:01 AM

Total newbie to native fish.
I joined a few years ago because I fell in love with the gulf coast pygmy sunfish.
I haven't been able to find any for sale around here, so I have been waiting patiently.
Until I find my cuties, I have a 30 gallon sand bottom, planted tank but don't know what to stock it with.
I currently have some cardinal tetras and sparkling gouramis. They can be moved to another tank. Or, I can set up one of my 20 gallon long tanks to be native. OR, I can get another 30 gallon at the next $1 per gallon sale! I don't know if my better half would allow that. We'll see. I have severe MTS issues.

So, what stocking suggestions does anybody/everybody have for a a 20 gallon long tank and/or a 30 gallon tank?

If there needs to be a substrate change, just let me know. I have Fluorite or sand. I can do barebottom, or get some nice smooth rocks from a lake.
As for plants, I have Java Fern, Anubius Barteri, Anubias Nana, Wisteria and Cabomba. My Anacharis all melted and died. I guess the temperature is set a bit too high for that plant (75).

#2 Josh Blaylock

Josh Blaylock
  • Board of Directors
  • Central Kentucky

Posted 12 January 2015 - 01:11 PM

1st question: Where are you located?

Josh Blaylock - Central KY
NANFA on Facebook

KYCREEKS - KRWW - KWA

I hope to have God on my side, but I must have Kentucky.

- Abraham Lincoln, 1861

#3 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 12 January 2015 - 01:21 PM