Favorite native

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 shaft6977

shaft6977
  • NANFA Guest
  • Crawfordsville, IN

Posted 22 March 2015 - 07:41 PM

I'm fairly new to natives (been in the game a little less than a year) and I was wondering...what's everyone's favorite native that they've ever kept, and / or what is the one that you've never had but always dreamed of keeping?

#2 mattknepley

mattknepley
  • NANFA Member
  • Smack-dab between the Savannah and the Saluda.

Posted 22 March 2015 - 07:52 PM

My favorite is the Christmas Darter, Etheostoma hopkinsi. One I'd love to keep but never will, I'm sure, is the Alaska Blackfish, Dallia pectoralis.
Matt Knepley
"No thanks, a third of a gopher would merely arouse my appetite..."

#3 Sean Phillips

Sean Phillips
  • NANFA Member
  • Allegheny River Drainage, Southwest PA

Posted 22 March 2015 - 08:00 PM

Very difficult question. But probably one of three fish: the channel, blue, or flathead catfish. After those, probably the Greenside Darter.
Sean Phillips - Pine Creek Watershed - Allegheny River Drainage

#4 shaft6977

shaft6977
  • NANFA Guest
  • Crawfordsville, IN

Posted 22 March 2015 - 08:00 PM

Man I wish we had Christmas darters here. My birthday is December 25, so it's practically mandatory that I get ahold of some at some point in my life.

#5 shaft6977

shaft6977
  • NANFA Guest
  • Crawfordsville, IN

Posted 22 March 2015 - 08:01 PM

Flathead catfish is one of my top 5 favorite foods!

#6 mattknepley

mattknepley
  • NANFA Member
  • Smack-dab between the Savannah and the Saluda.

Posted 22 March 2015 - 08:11 PM

They're great little aquarium fish. PM me if you're ever ready for some.
Matt Knepley
"No thanks, a third of a gopher would merely arouse my appetite..."

#7 shaft6977

shaft6977
  • NANFA Guest
  • Crawfordsville, IN

Posted 22 March 2015 - 08:19 PM

Sounds great! Thanks! I've really been pondering a darter-only tank lately and those would be perfect.

#8 Michael Wolfe