Photo

Careful in the water

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 FirstChAoS

FirstChAoS
  • Regional Rep

Posted 23 March 2016 - 12:55 AM

I have been debating posting this for a couple months but was worried it would either be common knowledge or not fish related enough,

Usually when I am in the water I worry more about bitey critters like crayfish, leeches, and snapping turtles. But the real danger more often than not is the water itself.

What made me consider posting this was an incident a month or two ago where one of the Fish Nerds crew saw an ice fisherman fall through the ice up[ in Conway NH. He called for help then ran to rescue him, only to fall in himself. He pulled himself out and unable to reach the man in trouble waited for help to arrive. It arrived too late, he ended up witnessing the drowning. Hearing of this horrible incident got me thinking on the often ignored dangers of the water that go beyond ice.

Most major rivers and some minor ones get a few deaths each year, especially when they are swollen from rain or snow melt. Though I never really went into water that was a major problem, once I entered the Connecticut when the water was higher than usual and found myself unable to swim against the current so followed the often read advice of swimming accross it and returned to shore a bit down stream from where I entered. 

Along the coast signs warning of rip current are not uncommon, and in portsmouth this summer someone warned me and Mike about it.

So use caution when in the water, it could be dangerous.

#2 loopsnj64

loopsnj64
  • NANFA Guest

Posted 23 March 2016 - 03:48 PM

My story isnt too interesting, but I will post it here just because