Just got a new tank.

• Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_BigHE_*

Guest_BigHE_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 July 2007 - 03:26 PM

I just found this site after I bought my tank. Please be gentle. I bought a 55 gallon kit from Walmart and I want to make a tank that replicates a freshwater pond in my area. I live in the Northeast, Delaware to be exact. Anyway, I have the tank: 55 gallons, an Aqua-Tech 30-60 bio/power filter. What should I do next. I used to have saltwater tanks in the past, so I'm not completely unfamiliar to some of the practices, but basically I'm a beginner again. Can some one suggest a test kit and anything esle I'd probably need.

Like I said, I have that filter, should I be looking at getting a power head? I seen in another post, that people are creating current in their tanks. How is that done? Is my tank large enough for that. Thanks in advance for the help. Jay

#2 Guest_nativecollector_*

Guest_nativecollector_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 July 2007 - 03:34 PM

There is much more experienced people here to help you, but I will add before they do that if you are trying to recreate a pond enviroment then you will not need to worry about any kind of currents. Most if not all pond are still bodies of water, as with many lakes. The people that are creating currents are ones that have fish from a fast flowing stream or river.

For a test kit the basics should get you what you need,
pH
ammonia
nitrite
nitrate
hardness (not always necessary)

So thats my 1.5 cents worth

<------This wont stay this way but my post count and member number finally match. :eek:

#3 Guest_teleost_*

Guest_teleost_*
  • Guests

Posted 02 July 2007 - 03:35 PM

Since you plan on a tank that replicates a pond, I doubt additional flow will be needed or wanted. Many of the tanks with extra flow are designed around stream/riffle fishes.