Advice For A Complete Beginner

• Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_vincenzo_*

Guest_vincenzo_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 July 2007 - 05:12 PM

Hello, all. I just joined this forum when I was looking on information on native fish to keep in a giant aquarium I'll soon be purchasing (at least a couple hundred gallons). I thought it'd be awesome to have a very large aquarium of native fish with a great looking habitat set up and everything. Problem is, I know ZERO about native fishkeeping and really need some help. I hope that this topic could help me and then future absolute novices in the future.

I basically need to know what fish to keep. I'll tell you my requirements and what I'm looking for, and I'd like advice on what to get and where to get them. Let's pretend price isn't a concern, even though it is (if it's a REALLY expensive fish - over $100 - then I won't get it). I.e. I have tropical fish, but I would never buy discus fish, no matter how pretty they are.

So, my requirements are as follows:

Every fish should be at least four inches long (full-grown).
No fish can be more than, say, 2 and a half feet long.
I need fish that will be relatively easy to feed. I know that there are a lot of native pisciverous fish out there, and if I absolutely cannot have native fish without feeding them feeder fish, then I have to focus on feeder fish as the main food and deal with it. I would prefer if I could mix some live food with some (or all, ideally) flake food or pellet food, etc. I don't want some picky fish that will only eat live fish. But again, if I must, I'll consider it.
I really would like less ornery fish. I know that a 2-foot walleye will eat an easy-to-catch, 4-inch minnow. What I mean by less ornery is docile. Catfish, for example, are very docile, but highly predatory (in general). Sun and channel catfish are good examples, but are probably a liiiiiittle too big for my aquarium.