crappie as a tankmate

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_jman_*

Guest_jman_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 July 2007 - 09:13 PM

I'm still pretty new to the native scene, and need some advice. I've got a 55 gal that's app. 4'x1'x21". Its got a longear that's about 6.5 inches thats been in the tank for a while and a warmouth (about the same size) that I put in today. The longear and the warmouth seem to be getting along quite well. I was wanting to put maybe a crappie or a redear in the tank with them. I was wondering if either of these would be overly aggressive or become too large for the tank. Also, any other suggestions for the tank are welcome. I live in southern Indiana, and would like to have only one of each type of fish in the tank to add variety. Thanks!

#2 Guest_killier_*

Guest_killier_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 July 2007 - 09:37 PM

both redear and crappie get a bit to large 15" for the red ear and 20" for the crappie I would get another longear or even a green sunnie before I would get a red ear or a crappie but if you do get one of the species I would get a crappie much less agressive

Rob

#3 Guest_edbihary_*

Guest_edbihary_*
  • Guests

Posted 08 July 2007 - 11:20 AM

First of all, you don't need to give us the dimensions of a 55 gallon tank, it's a standard tank size, but the intentions are appreciated. Secondly, I seriously doubt that a black crappie will grow anywhere near 15 inches in an aquarium. I've never seen one (so far) more than about 5 inches in the wild, although I'm sure they can get bigger. I've had one since last December, it was about 3 inches, now it's about 5 inches. I think (and hope) it's about done growing. It refused to eat for about four or five weeks, and I was growing concerned. But after watching the longears and pumpkinseeds eat all that time, and getting hungry enough, it decided to eat. Now it's got quite a healthy appetite. It's a beautiful fish. I recommend it.