Anyone tried building yur own acrylic tank?

• Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_TFD_*

Guest_TFD_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 December 2007 - 11:09 PM

I would really like to have a large tank for sunfish - this is my first sketch it calculates out to 299 Gallons (2400 Lbs. of water). This is probably too big but would be nice. The only way I could ever actully get into one of these would be to build it myself. I am pretty handy and the wood portion doesn't concern me but I have never worked with acrylic before. Anyone had experiance? Suggestions? Warnings? How thick should I go with the acrylic?

Attached File  aquarium1.jpg   58.62KB   2 downloads

#2 Guest_TFD_*

Guest_TFD_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 December 2007 - 11:31 PM

This is probably a bit more realistic - 224 Gallons or if I made it 18" deep it would be 200 Gal

Attached File  aquarium6foot224gal.jpg   58.02KB   2 downloads

#3 Guest_puchisapo_*

Guest_puchisapo_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 December 2007 - 01:48 AM

man, that looks like a big, ambitious project.

have you considered getting a quote from any builders, such as Aquariums for You.

#4 Guest_fuzzyletters_*

Guest_fuzzyletters_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 December 2007 - 01:59 AM

sketchup ftw? that would be a really cool tank--i would just consider how difficult it would be to work in and how likely you would be to scratch the acrylic in doing so... or in making it. it might be worth at least talking to a tank builder like puchisapo suggested to see if they think it could be done. nice model though... did you make those plants?

#5 Guest_TFD_*

Guest_TFD_*
  • Guests

Posted 10 December 2007 - 02:16 AM