Pond design idea ,long post

• Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_machineman_*

Guest_machineman_*
  • Guests

Posted 12 February 2008 - 11:30 PM

I am going to build a pond in my garden to raise catfish and bluegill for aquaculture and after thinking about the idea for awhile
I came up with what I think is a good idea. I am a machinist and I have a wonderful selection of tools so this job will be cheaper for me than others but it should still be pretty simple.
What I am going to do is take a strip of 24 gauge galvanized sheet metal 40' by 3'or 4' an bend the last 2" on each end over in opposite directions so that they will hook together to form a ring about 12' in diameter. I will then put some silicone in the seam to seal it, hammer it flat and bolt through it with 1/4-20 stainless screws. You could also use other sizes of sheet and have more than one seam. I am going to cut 1/2" cuts in the bottom side of ring 2" apart and bend them in and out alternately leaving one straight between. The bent ones will help hold the ring in the concrete when you pour it and the ones you don't bend will hold the ring up to allow concrete to run under to the outside. Then you dig a flat spot for the tank lay down a layer of road base gravel and some screen. Then you put the ring of sheet metal on the gravel and screen, if you want a drain in the bottom you should put it in before the gravel and screen. I will then pour in between 2" and 3" of concrete (a little more than a yard) and paint it with epoxy paint to seal it and protect it so it will last longer. The top edge will have a garden hose split down the side on it to cover the sharp edge.