Planning 75g native

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_alter40_*

Guest_alter40_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 February 2008 - 09:46 AM

I'm new to keeping natives but I plan on starting up a new tank this spring, once all of the ice is gone, for natives. I'm not sure what type of smaller fish we have in this area but I will be setting up minnow traps and using a one man seine to scout things out as early as I can. I was hoping to keep 2 of the smallest yellow perch that I can find and maybe a couple of small rock bass as well. These are both fish that I'm positive that I will be able to easily catch. I don't know if I can find any bluegill or pumpkinseed, but if I do come across some small ones while using the minnow trap or the seine I would probably swap those out for the rock bass. I also plan on collecting some rocks, driftwood, and plants all out of my local waters. I'm not sure what I will use for my substrate yet but would like to find something the really makes the tank look natural.

Do these plans sound ok so far? 2 yellow perch, 2 rock bass, and I would probably put a bunch of minnows in there as well depending on what I am able to find.

As far as filtering goes, what is my best option for a native tank? I was thinking about setting it up with a canister filter but if something like the emperor 400 would be better for this then I can also go that route. If there is anything missing that I haven't mentioned please let me know.

#2 Guest_fishlvr_*

Guest_fishlvr_*
  • Guests

Posted 19 February 2008 - 11:33 AM

Welcome to the forum!

You need to check your local laws about collecting those fish, since rock bass, yellow perch, bluegill, and pseeds are considered gamefish in most states, and can only be collected by hook and line.

A couple of rock bass and a yellow perch sounds good for your tank, but the minnows will become lunch as soon as the rock bass get big enough to eat them.

Again, welcome to the forum!
-Steve