10 Gallon Question

• Please log in to reply
27 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_pes142_*

Guest_pes142_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 March 2008 - 06:20 PM

I am new to the hobby f native species keeping, but it seems more exciting than tropical fish to me. I live in a dorm at Penn State, and i was wondering if anyone has any tips on what species and how many i could put in a ten gallon tank. Thanks for the help.

#2 Guest_Newt_*

Guest_Newt_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 March 2008 - 06:24 PM

Hello and welcome!

There are many types of minnows, darters, topminnows, and other small fishes that could do well in a ten gallon tank; I'm not familiar with Pennsylvania fishes, so I can't give you anything more specific. In my limited experience, 5 or 6 small (2-3") fish pretty well fill a ten gallon.

#3 Guest_alter40_*

Guest_alter40_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 March 2008 - 07:27 PM

I'm not sure what is in the area either but I'm about 2 hours north of you and I'm planning on starting up a 10g very soon, (getting it setup this weekend or early next week to cycle) and I will be starting to collect fish for it in the next couple weeks. I will be posting the pictures of my tank as long as the species that I'm able to find.

#4 Guest_Newt_*

Guest_Newt_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 March 2008 - 07:52 PM

Remember, you shouldn't take fish home and then return them to the wild. The reason I bring this up is that the following scenario seems likely:

You go to your local stream and catch several fish. You bring them home, put them in your tank, and then start trying to ID them (or post pictures here so the NANFA experts can ID them for you). Then it turns out that some of your little fish are baby creek chubs or similar that will quickly outgrow your tank and terrorize your other fish. So then you're stuck; you have to either get a bigger tank for the chubs or find a way to dispose of them without returning them to the wild.