Graduate School in North Carolina

23 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_NateTessler13_*

Guest_NateTessler13_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 March 2008 - 08:42 AM

Hi everybody,
Right now, I'm an undergraduate student at Bowling Green State University in Bowling Green, OH. In another year, I'll be graduating with my bachelor's in Biology (with an aquatic ecology focus). Immediately after that, I plan on attending graduate school to earn a Master's degree (and possibly a PHD, but I'll cross that bridge when I get there). I have a few schools in mind in my area in the Midwest, but I am also seriously considering a move to North Carolina. This northern weather is just unbearable at times, and I'm feeling like I'd rather live out in the North Carolina climate. With this being said, I'm looking for some information about graduate programs in North Carolina, more specifically anything near the east coast and/or Wilmington, NC. I would like the program offered to focus on Aquatic Ecology, and being that my work is almost exclusively freshwater, it would make sense for the program to not be marine in nature. I know that we have quite a few members here that live in this state, so I figured I could ask here because perhaps some of you have attended these universities and went through these programs.

Any help would be appreciated,
Nate Tessler

#2 Guest_dsmith73_*

Guest_dsmith73_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 March 2008 - 09:47 AM

I haven't been through the programs on the North and South Carolina coasts, but I can give you a bit of information. The two most prominent schools in this area are UNC-Wilmington and the College of Charleston(my Alma Mater). They both have excellent graduate programs, but they are both primarily focused on marine environments. Your best bets for FW focused graduate studies in NC or SC are either NC State or Clemson. These schools are more focusued on agriculture and the environment and both have good fisheries programs in their grad schools.

#3 Guest_ashtonmj_*