Collecting spots between Buffalo and Cincinnati

2 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_kebuchan_*

Guest_kebuchan_*
  • Guests

Posted 14 October 2008 - 09:21 AM

Hi all,

I'm new to native fish, actually I don't have any yet other then a 10g with about 8 gambusia affinis - That I didn't know where native. I have a basic 30g cycled and ready for when I do go out there and collect something. The 30g has some java moss and "guppy grass" with a small piece of driftwood and some rocks. I have a powerhead as an option to create a current but it's not set up yet, currently using an HOB.

We went out to a local state park (Big Bone) in Northern Kentucky over this past weekend just spur of the moement, not really to collect but the kids (4 & 2) had a blast trying to catch minnows and other lil fish with their aquarium nets.

I was looking to collect smaller fish - darters, madtoms, dace and maybe some livebearers. Initially was thinking about sunfish (pumpkinseed or OSS) but I think they'll quickly make a meal of their smaller tankmates.

We're headed up to Toronto for a few days and I thought I might try a few spots on the way down. So basically anything enroute between Buffalo and Cincinnati. We typically take I-90 from Buffalo to Erie, PA to Cleveland area, I-271 to I-71 and then on to Columbus and Cincinnati. Depending on where we stop I know I will have to get a day permit for NY state and/or PA.

I have never collected before but I've got a couple of styrofoam boxes (5g) and "Big Bubbles" set to go for collecting. Have a couple of dipnets but I might have to buy another one. The mesh is not very fine, not fine enough for me to net any of the smaller fish that I was hoping for - darters, dace, madtoms etc.

I would really have liked to try and collect in Ontario too but it would probably be a huge hassle bringing the fish across the border back into the US.