My "hack" ten gallon

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_joia2181_*

Guest_joia2181_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 November 2008 - 03:59 PM

It's been serving it's main purpose as a home for swamp darters, snails, and feeder fish (for a redfin) in another tank. I'ts been established for almost 2 1/2 yrs now. All substrate is straight from a private lake, even have some invasive weeds and other aquatic hickhickers like a stickbug "Ranatra linearis" I think? Also a common rosy, a native stripped killi and a couple of Gambusia make up the fish besides the swamp darters. I'm not good at ID'ing plants besides the Java moss. No filters attached, I do 4 gal water change maybe every month over a couple sessions. The lights and air stone are on a timer. Everyone in the tank eats brine, bloodworms, and chopped up earthworns. I've never seen the darters eating any flake food though I do add a little. I use algae discs for all the rams and MTS, not like they need any more food in their. O I believe there are some random ghost shrimp in there as well. Please post any comments or plant ID's for me. Thank you to all the folks who go me into this hobby!

Attached File  tank33.JPG   296.53KB   6 downloads
Attached File  IMG_1826.JPG   153.02KB   2 downloads
Attached File  Dater.JPG   209.19KB   1 downloads
Attached File  snail1.JPG   260.68KB   3 downloads
Attached File  stickbug1.JPG   105.52KB   2 downloads

Attached Files

#2 Guest_CATfishTONY_*

Guest_CATfishTONY_*
  • Guests

Posted 07 November 2008 - 08:24 PM

[quote name='joia2181' date='Nov 7 2008, 02:59 PM' post='49018']