New from Georgia

13 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_RedBeard_*

Guest_RedBeard_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 December 2008 - 08:20 PM

Hi all,

Always interested in native fishes. I have a couple of biology degrees (not in fishes). One from the best school in Alabama and one from a pretty good school in Georgia. I work as a wildlife biologist. My comments and opinions are mine and do not reflect my employer...

My wife and I have been contemplating a native fishes tank for a while so we are going to start out with bluegill and see where we go from there. I am open to advice and recommendations.

RedBeard

#2 Guest_fundulus_*

Guest_fundulus_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 December 2008 - 08:49 PM

So you have a degree from the University of Alabama in Huntsville? We're glad you found the forum.

#3 Guest_RedBeard_*

Guest_RedBeard_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 December 2008 - 08:57 PM

So you have a degree from the University of Alabama in Huntsville? We're glad you found the forum.

Even better than that! I was fortunate enough not to go to one of those various UA schools (UAH, UAB, or UAT).

My Alma Mater is Auburn University.

I took Ichthyology while I was there and made a big fat C. That was a hard class.

#4 Guest_schambers_*

Guest_schambers_*
  • Guests

Posted 27 December 2008 - 09:13 PM

Welcome! Browse around in the Photo and Video Gallery and you'll get lots of ideas.

#5 Guest_Irate Mormon_*

Guest_Irate Mormon_*
  • Guests

Posted 28 December 2008 - 03:37 PM

Advice and recommendation: Don't start with bluegill. They are mean and ugly. Longears are much nicer. They can still be kinda mean, but man are they pretty.

#6 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 28 December 2008 - 08:59 PM