Where to get a dipnet

10 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_fishyeric_*

Guest_fishyeric_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 July 2009 - 02:26 PM

I have just set up a new 125 gallon tank to be filled with natives. Of course I want to catch the fish myself. My big problem is that I have no experience with this. I spend plenty of time fishing with a hook and line, but I am looking for critters too small to catch in that manner. Likely I will spend some time alone trying to catch these critters. I do not own a dipnet. I am looking for suggestions as to what I should get and where I might look for a dipnet. I am in central ohio if that makes a difference.

Here is a shot of the empty tank. Still some work to do, but its operational.
Posted Image

#2 Guest_scotty_*

Guest_scotty_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 July 2009 - 03:28 PM

my opinion is to get a seine instead you will need a partner to help but they work really well . the one i use is 4'H x 8'L and i attach each end to old broom handels run the net through the water (against the current) for 10-20 yards and lift with a forward motion . it takes a little practice but once you get the hang of it it works great

Attached Images

• PDR_0126.JPG
  • PDR_0124.JPG

#3 Guest_GottaCatchEmAll_*

Guest_GottaCatchEmAll_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 July 2009 - 05:03 PM

If you want a dipnet still, I heard the good suggestion of going to the pool section of Walmart and getting a pool skimming net. They work great because they have long handles, flat heads that sit on the bottom, and thin mesh so you can catch the tiniest of fish. Hope this helps! :)

#4 Guest_CATfishTONY_*

Guest_CATfishTONY_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 July 2009 - 05:12 PM

Dip nets are like many things in life dont get the highest priced one opt for the next to it
if you think its worth the funds and want it to last.
we have member here in the vendor section of this forum
http://forum.nanfa.o...onahs-aquarium/