first time out.

10 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_sonix215_*

Guest_sonix215_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 September 2009 - 11:57 AM

well i went out today wtih a couple of friends and came up wtih nothing so tons of fish but hard to catch just wtih a dipnet. How do i go about doing this? do i get a seine net? throw it in the water and pull? i'd love to get into this but need someone to show me the beginner pointers. thanks everyone.
Mike

#2 Guest_jamez_*

Guest_jamez_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 September 2009 - 12:13 PM

Im still new at this too but I would try putting out some minnow traps if you have access to them. Also you said you had a couple of friends that went with you then I would get them and a seine and im sure yall will get bucket loads of fish. :smile2: Goodluck

#3 Guest_jdphish_*

Guest_jdphish_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 September 2009 - 12:25 PM

I'm sure you will get better suggestions from others, I did a youtube search and found a couple techniques. The last is most comprehensive if you can get about 1:40 seconds into it before they collect.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Fj3LCGXsG6g&feature=related

I like rod and reel myself.

#4 Guest_fundulus_*

Guest_fundulus_*
  • Guests

Posted 05 September 2009 - 06:57 PM

The short answer for collecting fish with any guarantee of capture is to use a seine. I was using one today by myself (not a great idea, but I wound up by myself) and steadily caught shiners, darters and the odd sculpin in a stream with a lot of flow. Two people pulling a seine is much, much easier and efficient. The trick to using a seine is to make sure the bottom (lead) line remains close to the bottom, because most fish will try to swim under the net. Face the net into some current to keep it belled out, and also make sure you lean the net back some so that you have a "bag" in which the fish will be held once you pull the net up. We should have videos of that around here, but I don't think we do...

#5 Guest_sonix215_*

Guest_sonix215_*