Vent Sexing

• Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_fishlvr_*

Guest_fishlvr_*
  • Guests

Posted 22 November 2007 - 12:08 AM

Can it be done with sunfish? I have two greens that I'm planning on letting breed in an outdoor tub next spring, and I want to know if I have a male and a female or if I need to get some more. Also, can this be done on any other fishes, such as pickerel?

#2 Guest_smbass_*

Guest_smbass_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 November 2007 - 12:49 PM

I have not done this but I think it is likely possible. I know it can be done on Pikes I actually saw a paper on this one time but I honestly have no idea where it was and again I have no personal experience with this but I do think it is possible.

#3 Guest_fishlvr_*

Guest_fishlvr_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 November 2007 - 06:32 PM

I have not done this but I think it is likely possible. I know it can be done on Pikes I actually saw a paper on this one time but I honestly have no idea where it was and again I have no personal experience with this but I do think it is possible.

Thanks. I was mainly wondering about pikes, but I also have a few green sunfish and I know they aren't exactly easy to sex by color/fins/etc.

#4 Guest_centrarchid_*

Guest_centrarchid_*
  • Guests

Posted 30 November 2007 - 06:52 PM

Can it be done with sunfish? I have two greens that I'm planning on letting breed in an outdoor tub next spring, and I want to know if I have a male and a female or if I need to get some more. Also, can this be done on any other fishes, such as pickerel?

Attached are images made today with healthy adult green sunfish. Male would readily spawn in a day or so and female could be made ready in just a few days. Notice urogential opening of female is larger than that of anus while in male the same opening is smaller than the anus. With less ripe females the reproductive opening would appear tighter with an asterisk shaped sphincter in the middle.