New Darter Tank

• Please log in to reply
17 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_aquachromis_*

Guest_aquachromis_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 February 2011 - 04:21 PM

This will be my first native tank so I want to make sure I get it right the first go around. Although I'm new to natives, I'm not new to fish keeping in general. I've been reading the forums the last week or so, and I just joined NANFA last week as well. I have 3 tanks I plan on setting up with natives but I've decided the first tank will be dedicated to darters. So, onto the tank. It's a 20 gallon long that I want to set up as a river tank. It will probably only house darters but I may add some shiners, still up in the air on that. I'm also planning on ordering the fish online. I plan to set the tank up with the river tank manifold similar to the one that some people use for keeping hillstream loaches. As far as decor goes, river rocks, small "boulders" and pea gravel mixed with sand substrate, some small driftwood, and maybe some aquatic mosses. I may actually try to get most of that from a local stream or river.

So some question:

1. Can I keep more than one species of darter in this tank? I like the Rainbow, Orangethroat, Tennessee Snubnose, Savannah, Seagreen, and Blackbanded Darters that I've found available online. Obviously I can't keep all of those but would any 2 work?

2. How much current should I shoot for and how much is too much for a 20long tank? I thought I might use a maxijet 1200 that I bought several years ago. I'm afraid this may be overkill though and I may need to buy a new powerhead with a lower gph rating.

3. Do I need to worry about hybridization if I keep more than one species in the same tank?

4. How many of each species should I initially stock with?

Thanks in advance for any help/answers.

#2 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 03 February 2011 - 04:42 PM