What do I do with very gravid Least Killies?

8 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_FishyMooMoo_*

Guest_FishyMooMoo_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 June 2011 - 05:29 AM

Hi all,

A few weeks ago, I moved about 6 Golden Endlers (one pair + juvies) into a 20 gallon long with the 7 Least Killies that were already in there. The female Endler dropped 2 fry a day or two ago. I thought it may have been Least Killie fry but the size seemed to be on par with Endler fry, another live-bearer. I don't know how big Least Killifish fry are supposed to be as this is my first time raising them.

Anyway, two of my killies are gravid (one looks like she's about to explode). Is it safe to leave them in there? My rule of thumb is fish will generally eat anything that they can catch or can fit in their mouths. I've always raised Endlers with their parents and it has been working out as they are a bit large.

Should I move them out to a temporary container (ice-cream bucket :)) or is it safe to keep them in with the Endlers when they release the fry? The old Endler tank is currently being used to nurse a badly injured Convict Cichlid I adopted from my brother.

Love this forum. Thanks!

#2 Guest_EricaWieser_*

Guest_EricaWieser_*
  • Guests

Posted 23 June 2011 - 11:10 AM

It's more likely that with a drop of only two fry, those fry are Heterandria formosa. Endler's livebearers drop in batches of ten or so. Heterandria formosa drop in batches of two fry a day for a week or two, I've heard. Quoting wikipedia,

Dwarf Livebearer have a unique breeding strategy even among livebearers. Rather than all the young being released at once, as many as 40 fry are released over a 10 to 14 day period, but occasionally over a longer period.

Source: http://en.wikipedia....warf_Livebearer