Photo

tank mates for rainbow shiners

6 replies to this topic

#1 tjvkooten

tjvkooten
  • NANFA Guest
  • Putten, Netherlands Europe

Posted 24 June 2016 - 01:55 AM

i have an 85 gallon tank with 10 rainbow shiners, does anyone have any ideas of what to put in there with the shiner.

i have thought of sticklebacks but the seem to have aggression problems an bite fins of other fish.

darters supposedly won't get the chance to eat. (maybe i'll make a darter tank later)

as i'm new to american fishes, and want to stick to this area i'd like to get some ideas.

also i think i just saw my shiners start with mating/breeding behaviour.

Kind regards,

Thijmen

#2 littlen

littlen
  • NANFA Member
  • Washington, D.C.

Posted 24 June 2016 - 05:58 AM

Are you looking for suggestions for additional North American species?  If so, most species of shiner are fine together.  

Or, if you have access to darters, they would also do very well with Rainbow shiners.  In an 85 gallon tank, there is plenty of room to disperse the food such that the bottom dwellers will get their share of food.

(Be cautious of any jokers who suggest Creek chubs or Green sunfish).

Nick L.

#3 Michael Wolfe

Michael Wolfe
  • Board of Directors
  • North Georgia, Oconee River Drainage

Posted 24 June 2016 - 08:03 AM

If you are looking to breed these, as some do, then you need no other fish in there.

But if you are like me and just like a nice community tank then I have a few suggestions.

The first fish that comes to my mind if Mobile Logperch.  They are hardy and large darter and will be able to compete with the rainbows for food (plus they scour the bottom anyway).  And a really cool fact is that they naturaly occur together anyway.

Blackbanded darters are a little smaller but also are hardy and are also found with rainbows in the wild.