cenre County

60 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_pes142_*

Guest_pes142_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 March 2008 - 12:15 PM

Anyone interested in collecting in the State College area? I am a college student with a tank, and i am a little bored with the tropicals from local pet stores, i would love to get some local fish instead. I am currently a student at PSU, and hence have no car or transport. ANy tips on places within a few miles of school to collect would be a help, along with any tips on what would be good for a first time collector.

#2 Guest_dmarkley_*

Guest_dmarkley_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 March 2008 - 02:50 PM

Anyone interested in collecting in the State College area? I am a college student with a tank, and i am a little bored with the tropicals from local pet stores, i would love to get some local fish instead. I am currently a student at PSU, and hence have no car or transport. ANy tips on places within a few miles of school to collect would be a help, along with any tips on what would be good for a first time collector.

While I am not that close (Lancaster County) I will give you one note of caution: Do not collect in any of the local trout streams and there are a few around you. The Fish Commission officers will ticket you for that.

Are you at university park year round? We may be able to arrange something later in spring or summer.

Dean

#3 Guest_pes142_*

Guest_pes142_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 March 2008 - 06:16 PM

I am in University Park until the 2nd week of May, not sure if there are any creeks around me that i could go to then. I know Spring Creek is a trout stream, and that is the only stream i know of.

#4 Guest_alter40_*

Guest_alter40_*
  • Guests

Posted 24 March 2008 - 12:50 AM

Is there anywhere that we can get a map with showing what streams are trout streams and which ones aren't? I know there is a listing in the book you get with your license, but a map sure would be nice.