• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_mikev_*

Guest_mikev_*
  • Guests

Posted 25 July 2009 - 01:36 PM

Hi,

I hope I can get a bit of help here.

I am not new to fishkeeping, keep almost 50 tanks, breeding includes some gobies and gudgeons.
I'm new to darters.

I took five orangethroat darters at a local club auction about three weeks ago (well, no one else wanted them).

The fish are juvenile, about 1", kept in a 5.5g, strong aeration (agitated surface), temp 78-80, diet live artemia and frozen bloodworms, substrate river stone, no tankmates, stable biofilter, ph=7.1, kh=3, TDS=200.
Until today, the fish was active and looked happy.

Problem: one of them is "limping", almost falling on its side when it moves now. No other visible symptoms of a disease, so nothing I can try treating for.

I realize that the chances of diagnosis based on this are slim, but perhaps this is a known problem with darters or there is something wrong I'm doing.

Thank you.

Edited by mikev, 25 July 2009 - 02:11 PM.

#2 Guest_GottaCatchEmAll_*

Guest_GottaCatchEmAll_*
  • Guests

Posted 25 July 2009 - 03:48 PM

I had the same problem with them when I brought them home at first. Darters tend to struggle if there are high water temps with low dissolved oxygen. Try increasing the dissolved oxygen via airstone or something. Let me know what happens. :)

#3 Guest_Uland_*

Guest_Uland_*
  • Guests

Posted 25 July 2009 - 03:49 PM

Welcome to the forum Mike and thanks for posting.